Day One: “Today is the first day of the rest of your life.”

ImageSuburbiaitis: I have it.

I am pretty sure that suburbiatis is not a word, but it should be. I have it. I have taken this summer to find myself (amongst so many other things that I will get into later) but I have already discovered one thing after only 5 days. I am not a suburban dweller. I am a city person through and through. I would live the rest of my days wandering the streets of New York City, looking through bookstores, and drinking coffee. This is who I am.

My mom just said to me, “Maybe you were meant for a solitary life?” I am not sure about that, however I am sure that my life will never be completely solitary as I will always have the city, any city.

Why am I knee-deep in the suburban sprawl of not-quite Vancouver?

Many reasons… and I will put them in a list. These are in no particular order of importance, sadness, happiness, or illusions. My fiance and I are no more, I am depressed (clinically and medicated), my mom has cancer and needs help, I missed my nephew and had never met my niece, I missed Vancouver because I had literally ran away from it 7 years ago.

There. Now  I don’t have to post ANYTHING on my Facebook status. *please NO sympathy comments* 🙂

Stay tuned for more…

XOXOXOXO

 

Day One: “Today is the first day of the rest of your life.”

Leave a Reply

